Saturday, December 12, 2015

Book Review: Operation White Christmas

Operation White Christmas: An Escape to the Country Novella
by Nicki Edwards
Momentum Books
Advanced Reader Copy, Kindle edition Pages: 153 (approx.)

2 stars

Synopsis: Hollie Douglas has dreamed of a White Christmas ever since she was a child, but her dream implodes when her fiancé breaks her heart two months before their big day. Convinced by her best friend to go ahead with her planned honeymoon anyway, Hollie doesn't expect to find herself stuck in a snowstorm in rural Canada two days before Christmas.

Jim Bell has been dreading another Christmas without his wife. When one of his orphaned animals goes missing in the middle of a snowstorm, he didn't expect he'd be rescuing a stranded Australian tourist as well. He quickly realizes Hollie is carrying as much emotional baggage as him, and when she accepts his offer to seek shelter at his farm, he wonders if he's doing the right thing.

As Jim helps Hollie fulfil her White Christmas dreams, the winter wonderland and spirit of Christmas work their healing magic on both of them.

A sweet Christmas romance in the tradition of Melissa McClone and Alissa Callen.

My view of the book:  Although this was a sweet story, being a novella of just slightly over a 150 pages, everything had to happen quickly, so I often found myself thinking this is ridiculously implausible. Had this been a full 300+page novel, things would have probably happened at a more realistic pace and over a longer timeframe.  I received this as an ARC from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  Although I may not have enjoyed this novella as much as I would have if it was a longer novel, the basic story  was good, but the characters were not developed as well as they probably would have been in a full-length novel. I would possibly read a future book by Nicki Edwards. 

If you enjoy novellas and sweet romances, you probably would enjoy this.

No comments:

Post a Comment